## The Indian Institute of Metals IIM Honours & Awards 2017

Category/ SI No	Honours / Awards	Awardees	Affiliation
IIM Special Award	IIM JRD Tata Award 2017 for "Excellence in Corporate Leadership in Metallurgical Industries"	Mr. Sajjan Jindal	Chairman & Managing Director, JSW Steel Ltd.
	IIM Honours : Honorary Membership	1. Prof.Indranil Manna	Director, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
		2. Dr. Daniel Miracle	Scientist and Research Council Member, Air Force Research Laboratory, USA
		3. Dr. Hans-JörgFecht	Director, Institute of Micro and Nanomaterials, Ulm University, Germany
B IIM Awards :1	IIM Platinum Medal	Mr. Hemant M. Nerurkar	Former Managing Director of Tata Steel (India &South East Asia)
2	IIM Tata Gold Medal	Dr. Sudhir Kumar Mishra	Distinguished Scientist & Director General (BrahMos), DRDO, Ministry of Defence, Govt. of India and CEO& MD, BrahMos Aerospace, New Delhi
3	IIM G D Birla Gold Medal	Dr.Arun Kr Bhaduri	Distinguished Scientist & Director, IGCAR, Kalpakkam Tamil Nadu and Senior Professor, Homi Bhabha National Institute,
4	IIM – TSL New Millennium Award	Mr. R V Ramana	Chief, G Blast Furnace, Tata Steel, Jamshedpur
5	IIM Hindustan Zinc Gold Medal	Mr. Sanjay Sarkar	President & Chief Operating Officer, Birla Copper, Hindalco, Bharuch
6	IIM SAIL Gold Medal	Principal Author : Dr.G.V. Prasad Reddy Co-Authors : Dr. R. Sandhya,	Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam
		Dr. S. Sankaran and	Dept. of Met. & Mat. Engg., IIT Madras
		Dr. K. Laha	Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam
7	IIM Essar Gold Medal	Dr. Siddhartha Misra	Head Technology, Steelmaking and Casting Product Technology, Tata Steel Ltd., Jamshedpur
8	IIM Nalco Gold Medal	Mr Bichitra Nanda Das	Dy., General Manager(S), Nalco, Angul
9	IIM Binani Gold Medal	Principal Author : Mr. T. Sreenivas Co-Author :	Mineral Processing Division, Bhaba Atomic Research Centre, AMD Complex, Begumpet, Hyderabad
		Mr. J.K. Chakravarthy	Materials Group, Bhaba Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai
10	IIM Mecon Award Vice-	Mr. Rajesh Ranjan Jha	President (engg& projects), Tata Steel Ltd, Kalinganagar.
11	11 IIM Distinguished Educator Award	Prof. Siddhartha Das	Professor, Met & Mat Engg, IIT Kharagpur

12	IIM Dr. A K Bose Gold Medal	Mr. Krashnavtar	Dept. of Materials So IIT Kanpur	cience and Engineering ,	
13	IIM Sir Padamji Ginwala Gold Medal	None eligible to receive th Award this year.	e		
14	IIM N B Sen Medal & Prize	Mr. L J Eswara Rao Vanapalli	IIM Visakhapatnam C	IIM Visakhapatnam Chapter	
15	IIM Vidya Bharathi Prize	Mr. Bharat Khurana	Dept. of Metallurgical & Materials Engg., IIT Kharagpur		
16	IIM Students Award	First Prize :Ms. Yashvi Sing	h NIT Trichy	NIT Trichy	
		Second Prize :Ms. Shivangi Gupta	MNIT, Jaipur		
		Third Prize :Mr. SS Adarsh	NIT Trichy	NIT Trichy	
17	IIM Best Chapter Award	Large Category : 1st Prize : Jamshedpur			
		2nd Prize : Delhi & Kolkata			
		Medium Category : Kharagpur			
		Small Category : Kanpur			
18	Prof Brahm Prakash Memorial Quiz Award	Winners : Prabhjot Singh and Nishan Kumar Satyam - Vidya Bharati Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Jamshedpur Chapter.	Runners Up: Joint Runners: Kalpakkam Chapter Sarah Geo and Amarjeet Kumar - Kendriya Vidyalaya no. 2, Kalpakkam & Trichy Chapter V. Poorana Kumari and S. Karthik Kumaran – Sri Jayendra Saraswathi Swamigal Silver Jubilee Metric HSS, Thirunelveli		
19	Fellows	1)Dr Bhanu Pant	Sci/Engr H, Group Dir Metallurgy Group/VS	Sci/Engr H, Group Director- Materials and Metallurgy Group/VSSC, Indian Space Research Organization, Trivandrum	
		2)Dr. U.T.S. Pillai	Chief Scientist, CSIR-I	Chief Scientist, CSIR-NIIST, Industrial Estate, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala	
		3)Dr.Santanu Kumar Ray 4)Dr.R.Vaideeswaran		Steel Chair Professor, IIT Madras Metallurgical consultant & Visiting faculty, NITT	
		5)Mr. Suresh Kumar			
		6)Prof Amarendra Kumar		rofessor, Department of Materials Science	
		Singh 7)Dr.Kinkar Laha	Sc. Officer, Mechanic	and Engineering, IIT Kanpur Sc. Officer, Mechanical Metallurgy Div., IGCAR,	
20	IIM Certificate of Honour	Mr. N. Rajasekaran	· ·	Kalpakkam Dy. General Manager, BHEL, Trichy	
21	IIM National Sustainability Awards : Iron & Steel	Plants: 1st Prize : JSW Steel Ltd., Vidyanagar.	b)Secondary Steel Plants: 1st Prize :Salem Steel Plant, SAIL 2nd Prize :JSW Steel	c)DR Plants / Pig Iron Plants / Major Re- rolling Units : No Awards could be	

		Steel Plant)	Ltd, Salem Works	given this year.				
22	IIM Non- Ferrous Best	a)Large Scale Unit :	b)Secondary Processing	c) Units engaged in				
	Performance Award	1st Prize : Hindalco	Unit:	Casting and Forging				
		Industries Ltd.	Hindustan Aeronautics	operations :				
		(Renukoot unit)	Ltd	Gravita India Ltd				
		2nd Prize : Mishra	(Manufacturing)					
		Dhatu Nigam Ltd						
		(MIDHANI)						
New Aw	New Awards Introduced							
Institute	Instituted wef 2017 (under IIM Awards Category)							
23	Distinguished	1) Mr. J. C. Marwah	Former Secretary Ger	neral, IIM HO				
	Contributors Award	2) Mr. S. C. Suri	Former Chairman, IIN	Former Chairman, IIM Delhi Chapter				
24	Distinguished Service	1)Mr. A. K. Roy	Former General Man	Former General Manager, IIM HO				
	Providers Award	2) Mr. R. N. Datta	Former Deputy Gene	Former Deputy General Manager, IIM HO				